Columbus and Delaware, Ohio Criminal Defense Attorney
If you have been charged with a criminal offense in Columbus or Delaware, Ohio, contact Johnson Legal, LLC and speak with an experienced Columbus and Delaware, Ohio criminal defense attorney. Attorney David Johnson of Johnson Legal, LLC will discuss your case and assist you in fighting the charges. Call (614) 987-0192 or send an email to schedule a consultation regarding your criminal offense case.
Traffic Offenses in Ohio
Many drivers in Ohio believe that traffic violations are not important and can be resolved by simply paying the ticket. However, many driving-related offenses are serious and can have serious consequences, including jail or prison time, vehicle forfeiture and license suspensions. Listed below are several common traffic offenses in Ohio:
- Driving Under Suspension
- Reckless Operation
- Leaving the Scene of an Accident / Hit and Run
- Operating a Vehicle Under the Influence (DUI / OVI)
- Operating a Vehicle Under Age Consumption (OVUAC)
- Texting While Driving
If you have been cited for several moving violations, or have been charged with a serious traffic offenses, you may be charged with a misdemeanor or felony that can result in significant penalties, including jail.
Common Traffic Violations in Ohio
- Driving Under Suspension – Pursuant to Ohio Revised Code (ORC) 4510.11, Driving Under Suspension is defined as operating a motor vehicle upon the public roads or highways or private property used for public travel while their license is suspended. This offense is a 1st degree misdemeanor, which carries up to 6 months in jail and a $1000 fine, or an unclassified misdemeanor, which does not carry any jail time.
- Reckless Operation – Pursuant to ORC 4511.20, Reckless Operation is defined as operating a vehicle on any street or highway and doing so intentionally or deliberately without regard to the safety of others or property. This offense can be charged as a minor misdemeanor, 4th degree misdemeanor or 3rd degree misdemeanor.
- Leaving the Scene of an Accident / Hit and Run – Pursuant to ORC 4549.02, Leaving the Scene of an Accident is defined as failing to immediately stop when the driver has knowledge of being involved in an accident of collision or failing to stay at the scene to give their information to the other driver, injured person or law enforcement. This offense can be charged as a 1st degree misdemeanor, 5th degree felony or 3rd degree felony.
- Operating a Vehicle Under the Influence (DUI / OVI) – Pursuant to ORC 4511.19, DUI / OVI is defined as operating a vehicle while under the influence of alcohol, drugs or both. The offense can be charged as a 1st degree misdemeanor, 4th degree felony or 3rd degree felony based upon the circumstances of the offense and the number of previous DUI / OVI convictions the person has.
- Operating a Vehicle Under Age Consumption – Pursuant to ORC 4511.19(B), OVUAC is defined as operating a vehicle while under the influence of alcohol, drugs or both. This offense will be charged as a 1st degree misdemeanor.
Ohio’s Driver’s License Point System
Pursuant to ORC 4510.036, Ohio has a driving point system that assigns point to certain traffic violations a driver has committed. The amount of points depends on the type of offense and how serious it is. Accumulating points can lead to the temporary or permanent suspension of your Ohio driver’s license. The following is a list of some the various offenses and their point penalties:
[table id=18 /]
Upon any driver receiving 5 or more points, the Ohio BMV registrar will send a warning letter listing the reported violations, the number of points for each violation, and the possible license suspensions.
If any person receives 12 or more points in a 2 year period, the registrar will send a notice to the person that their license will be suspended pursuant to a Class D suspension. The suspension will be effective 20 days after the date of the notice. However, you are able to file a petition appealing the suspension in the 20 days before the suspension becomes effective.
Any person who has accumulated between 2 and 20 points can take a driving instruction course for a 2 point credit on their driving record, provided it is not court-ordered.
After a license suspension in Ohio, the driver must complete an approved driving instruction course, show proof of financial responsibility (i.e., automobile insurance), and take a driver’s license examination or physical examination conducted by the Ohio BMV registrar.
Driver’s License Suspension Classes
Ohio law provides for various classes of license suspension depending upon the type of offense the alleged offender committed. Pursuant to ORC 4510.02, the court is required to impose certain suspension ranges for each class of suspension. The following are the suspension periods for each class:
- Class One Suspension – Suspension for life
- Class Two Suspension – Suspension for 3 years to life
- Class Three Suspension – Suspension for 2 – 10 years
- Class Four Suspension – Suspension for 1 – 5 years
- Class Five Suspension – Suspension for 6 months to 3 years
- Class Six Suspension – Suspension for 3 months to 2 years
- Class Seven Suspension – Suspension for up to 1 year
When the Ohio BMV suspends a person’s driver’s license, the suspensions are as follows:
- Class A Suspension – Suspension for 3 years
- Class B Suspension – Suspension for 2 years
- Class C Suspension – Suspension for 1 year
- Class D Suspension – Suspension for 6 months
- Class E Suspension – Suspension for 3 months
- Class F Suspension – Suspension until the required conditions are met
Traffic Resources in Ohio
Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles – The Ohio BMV website contains information about Ohio’s driver’s license point system, driving records, driving forms and crash reports. The Ohio BMV is located at:
Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles
P.O. Box 16520
Columbus, Ohio 43216
Ohio Department of Public Safety (ODPS) – The ODPS website provides information about driver’s license suspensions, Ohio’s driver’s license point system, information on reinstating your driver’s license, how to obtain a commercial driver’s license (CDL) and the registry of habitual DUI / OVI offenders in the state of Ohio. The Ohio Department of Public Safety is located at:
Ohio Department of Public Safety
1970 W Broad Street
Columbus, Ohio 43223
Ohio State Highway Patrol (OSHP) – This OSHP enforces Ohio’s traffic laws and promotes safety by responding to vehicle crashes, providing information on patrol stations and through ongoing initiatives of the department. The OHSP can be contacted at:
Ohio State Highway Patrol
P.O. Box 182074
Columbus, Ohio 43223
Ohio Driver Point System – This link will take you to ORC 4510.036, which is Ohio’s law regarding offenses and the number of points that will be assessed by the Ohio BMV for each offense.
Columbus and Delaware, Ohio Traffic Attorney
If you have been charged with a traffic offense in Columbus or Delaware, Ohio, contact Johnson Legal, LLC and speak with an experienced criminal defense attorney. Attorney David Johnson of Johnson Legal, LLC will discuss your case and assist you in fighting the charges. Call (614) 987-0192 or send an email to schedule a consultation regarding your traffic offense case.